• Wed. Feb 21st, 2024

Types of Personal Trainer Certification

Becoming a personal trainer is a rewarding career. But first, you have to meet the requirements to receive a personal trainer certification.

You can become a personal trainer in various ways. This depends on your level of commitment and experience.

Do you want to become one of the few, the proud, the certified? Then read on. We’re going to take a look at some of the types of personal trainer certifications you can get today.

NSCA Certification

The National Strength and Conditioning Association certification is one of the most recognized. It is not only evidence of your knowledge and expertise in the field of strength and conditioning, but it is also of your commitment to continuing education and professional development.

It requires meeting stringent criteria for experience and education. But the rewards of holding this certification include increased job opportunities. This certification is the gold standard for a career in strength and conditioning.

ACSM Certification

The American College of Sports Medicine is a national commission for certifying accredited agencies. It is important for fitness certification organizations.

The certified personal trainer exam is very difficult. But, the passing rate is high, and the average passing score is above 80%. It is also the most expensive. Given its cost, it is worth it because it is the most respected and recognized by employers.

IYCA Certification

There are three types of IYCA certifications for personal trainers. The first is the Youth Fitness Specialist Certification. It is for trainers who work with young clients.

The second is the Performance Enhancement Specialist Certification, which is designed for trainers who work with clients of all ages.

The third is the Weight Management Specialist Certification. It is for trainers who work with clients who are looking to lose weight.

You can easily take these certifications online. Visit https://www.americansportandfitness.com for more information.

NESTA Certification

There are four types of personal trainer NESTA certification:

  • Certified Personal Trainer
  • Certified Weight Management Specialist
  • Certified Fitness Nutrition Coach
  • Certified Corrective Exercise Coach

There are different requirements and areas of focus for each one of these. The CPT is the entry-level that requires a high school diploma or equivalent.

CPR and AED Certification

The most common is the American Heart Association’s Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers. This certification is for healthcare providers for patients with cardiovascular disease.

The American Red Cross also offers several certification programs. It includes both Professional Rescuers and First Aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and AED for healthcare providers.

Start Your Personal Trainer Certification Journey Today!

To become a successful personal trainer, you will need the skills, knowledge, and personal trainer certification. There are many different types of personal trainer certifications available. So it is important to choose the right one for you.

The most important thing is to find an accredited program that offers a variety of options. Once you have found a program that meets your needs, you can begin working toward becoming a certified personal trainer.

For more articles just like this one, check out the career section on the blog!