• Sun. Apr 21st, 2024

Manipur Assembly Elections 2022: Re-polling in six polling stations in two districts of Manipur today

Imphal: The repolling in six surveying stations under Tadubi, Ukhrul, Chingai, Karong (all saved for ST), and Wangjing Tentha Assembly voting public will be hung on Tuesday (March 8, 2022).

The Election Commission on Monday requested re-surveying in six surveying stations under five Assembly electorates in Manipur, Chief Electoral Officer Rajesh Agrawal said. Casting a ballot would be open from 7 am to 4 pm on Tuesday.

The get together surveys will determine the electing destiny of 92 up-and-comers, including 12 from the BJP, trailed by Congress (18), National People’s Party (11), Janata Dal (United) and Naga People’s Front (10 each).

More than 77% of the 8,38,730 electors practiced their establishment in 22 of the 60 voting public on Saturday while 88.63 percent of 12,09,439 citizens cast their votes in 38 seats in the primary period of surveying on February 28.

One of the fundamental explanations behind thought of re-surveying was associated with harm of Electronic Voting Machines by reprobates during and after the second and last period of surveying on March 5, said the Chief Electoral Officer.

As per the previous reports, 12 episodes of harm to EVMs by reprobates were accounted for on Saturday and FIRs have been enlisted for each situation.

“Casting a ballot in these surveying stations in Ukhrul and Senapati were proclaimed to be void following savagery on March 5 during the second and last period of the get together surveys in the state,” said the authorities.

“These sort of occurrences lead to significant inconvenience to the voters of the surveying stations as their entitlement to establishment gets encroached on the survey day and they will currently have to come out again to practice their legitimate establishment upon the arrival of re-survey,” Agrawal said.

Two people were killed in a police terminating and an assault by the opponent party laborers and a few others were harmed in isolated occurrences in Senapati and Thoubal regions in Manipur in the second period of decisions.

The counting of votes will occur on March 10, alongside four different states-Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Uttar Pradesh, where Assembly surveys were held.